Friday, June 4, 2010

Cyclone Names Mystery

You may have wondered that how cyclone names are decided and who selected them. In reality the practice of naming the storms (cyclones) was adopted in the year 2000 to help identify the cyclones so that people could be informed about their arrival quickly.

This decision, to give names to the cyclones that form over the North Indian Ocean region, was taken unanimously by eight countries — Bangladesh, India, Maldives, Myanmar, Oman, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Thailand .

A meeting was held by the World Meteorological Organisation (WMO) and the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP) for this purpose purpose and both WMO and ESCAP together have laid out the procedure by which cyclones are named. Groups of countries in other cyclone-prone areas also have a similar convention for naming cyclones.

Each country gave eight names for the cyclones. Thus a list of 64 names was prepared. It was also decided that the 8 countries will take turns to name the cyclones.An IMD release in this regard reads: “The practice of naming storms was adopted because it was proved that short names are easier to remember than numbers and other technical terms.”

“Many have agreed that according names to cyclones makes it easy for the media to effectively report about their occurrence, heightens public interest in warnings and increases preparedness,” the release says. While the names of cyclone Nargis and Laila were suggested by Pakistan, Sri Lanka selected the name Bandu and the name Aila (meaning, fire) was suggested by the Maldives.


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More